Smith Class of 1964 website



Dear Classmates,

Our 50thReunion was wonderful, and we have saved much of it for repeated enjoyment at this website. Here is what we experienced, with links to what was recorded.


  • Friday:  We began our class gathering at lunch with an address by President McCartney, transitioned to  a spectacular class art exhibit with 21 artists exhibiting 37 works in the afternoon, and heard Jill Ker Conway at dinner provide us with wise guidance about going forward with our lives. While enjoying our  fabulously decorated headquarters at Laura Scales, we browsed more than 40 entries in the  “Journeys in Word and Sound” exhibit spread across three tables, reflecting a wide variety of texts, CDs, and DVDs produced by our classmates.
  • Saturday:  The weather cooperated admirably in the morning as we lined up for the alumnae parade with our witty and  wonderful class signs ;  proceeded to a touching service of remembrance for our  deceased classmates facilitated by Holly Adams; heard the fascinating  results of our questionnaire  delivered by Kathy Kehoe Ruhl;  were led in a movement break followed by a dance-talk by Wendy Osserman; and were stimulated by an exceptional panel discussion by classmates Lile Rasmuson Gibbons,  Ellen Sweet,  Ros Pollack Petchesky, and two students. In the evening we were regaled by Carol Sudhalter and her band.
  • Sunday: We concluded Reunion with a farewell class brunch into which Ruth Simmons’ insightful  commencement address  was piped.

Along the way, many people took many pictures. We have posted those of the official photographers (Emily Graves Jones and Midge Grassi Eliassen) on a Shutterfly website  where you can order copies of those you would like to have.

We Reunion chairs send our deepest thanks to the chairs and members of our fabulous committees.  You can see the membership of the committees and a full list of all our volunteers.

We are particularly indebted to co-editors Frances Vieta and Mary McRae Davis and their awesome team for our stunning class book.  They worked for more than two years to create this treasured volume.  An addenda and errata sheet for the book has been mailed to class members.  The Memorial Chair is a class officer position for classes that have graduated 20 or more years ago and will be held by Sally W. Smith. We are happy that Sally will hold this position after the terrific job she did for the 50thReunion book.

We celebrated our triumphant 50thReunion by winning every alumnae class award on Saturday and setting several new records:  FlowerPrizes

  • Highest percentage of class      members attending, with 44% back on campus.
  • Highest number of classmates attending,      with 262 members (The previous high in the past 6 years was achieved      by the Class of 1960, with 246 class members attending.)
  • Most Smith Stars at Reunion, with 39% of the class having contributed to Smith      for 5 or more consecutive years
  • New record for one-year Smith Fund gift of $1,743,008, $474,000 more than any other 50th reunion  class, with 76% of the class contributing to Smith. Over the past 5 years,  the class has averaged 59% participation.
  • Reunion class that raised the largest gift over  the 5 years since its last Reunion, for an incredible 5-year total  gift of $5,523,664
  • Grécourt Society Award for  2014, for  the class with the greatest number of Society members

We now have completed our responsibilities as Class Vice Presidents/Reunion Chairs.  We extend sincere thanks to the officers who served with us for the past five years and worked so hard with us to make the 50thReunion the success that it was:

President:  Susie Goodale Stringer
Treasurer: Pam Phillipps Swain
Secretary:  Judy Bartleson Wilson
Web Chair:  Sheila Sussman Manischewitz

We send best wishes to the classmates on the new slate for the 2014-2019 term:
President:  Frances Vieta
Vice Presidents/55thReunion Co-Chairs:  Susie Goodale Stringer, Lee Hurd Switz
Treasurer:  Judy Bartleson Wilson
Secretary: Ginny Penney Gliedman
Web Chair:  Sheila Sussman Manischewitz
Memorial Chair:  Sally W. Smith
Planned Giving Chair:  Mary Ellen Bowden
House Rep Co-Chairs:  Carol Case Siracuse, Jenette (Gee) Harvey Wheeler, Barbara Hull Francis

It has been a wonderful journey!

With warm regards,

Alden Finch Prouty
Arlene Stolper Simon
Eve Parker Hoffman